Margin leverage: just at first glance

The fact is that this topic is considered only once, at the very beginning of a person’s acquaintance with the markets, and even then it is extremely superficial. And the most difficult questions for a trader arise much later when he has already passed the trading training and tries his hand at a real account. Among the most common questions are the following: «Where can I set a 1:10 leverage?», «How do I know which leverage I am currently trading with?», «Why is the 1:2000 leverage considered risky?» etc. Therefore, we sincerely hope that after reading this material, you will find the necessary answers.

First, let’s remember the General definition of leverage. So, leverage is the ratio of the funds that a trader needs to have on the account to open a position and the size of that position itself. For example, the concept of «1:100 leverage» means that if you have 1 conventional unit on your account, you can work with 100 conventional units. We’ll look at this in the example below.

In all further explanations, we will use a conditional account for $10,000, with which we will trade the USD/JPY currency pair. The standard 1 lot for this pair is 100,000 units of the base currency, in our case, it is $100,000. The table below shows several options for transactions with this Deposit.

Amount on account Volume in lots Volume in currency Real leverage
$10.000 0,01 lot $1.000 10:1
$10.000 0,1 lot $10.000 1:1
$10.000 1 lot $100.000 1:10
$10.000 5 lots $500.000 1:50
$10.000 10 lots $1 000.000 1:100
$10.000 200 lots $20 000.000 1:2000

If you pay attention to the first two transactions, you will see that in the first case (0.01 lot), the leverage is not used at all, rather the opposite – we have 10 times more funds than we need. But in the second case, our deposit fully corresponds to the volume of the operation, that is, formally, we can work without leverage. At the same time, to make it easier for you to understand, we have introduced a separate term real leverage – this is the ratio of our entire deposit to the size of the transaction. However, since we open transactions with the help of a broker, we will not be able to refuse borrowed funds, since the money in our account and the money for which the transaction is opened are completely different categories. Therefore, we will introduce another concept «nominal leverage» — this is the figure by which the broker calculates margin requirements. Below is an augmented version of the same table in which we explain the meaning of the most popular leverage 1: 100. Please note that we have removed the last column since it is not possible to open operation for 200 lots with such a shoulder (we will return to this issue later).

Amount on account Volume in lots Volume in currency Real leverage Margin (Collateral) Nominal leverage
$10.000 0,01 lot $1.000 10:1 $10 1:100
$10.000 0,1 lot $10.000 1:1 $100 1:100
$10.000 1 lot $100.000 1:10 $1.000 1:100
$10.000 5 lots $500.000 1:50 $5.000 1:100
$10.000 10 lots $1 000.000 1:100 $10.000 1:100

Nominal leverage is the parameter that the broker uses to determine the size of the required margin that you will see in the MT4 terminal (the term collateral is used in the xStation platform). Al Forex clients receive leverage of 1: 100 by default, although, for some instruments (for example, CFDs on stocks), the indicator can change. Moreover, the amount of the Deposit does not depend on the amount on the Deposit. And if, for example, we open a position for 0.1 lot ($10,000), the «margin» column (collateral) will indicate $100 based on the 1:100 leverage. Although we are well aware that with an account size of $10,000, we have enough funds even to cover the entire operation.

And now we can go back to our questions, in particular, to putting up a smaller leverage size. The solution here is that when you read our lessons on money management or plan risks for your transactions, you will be dealing with real leverage. That is, you do not need to change any account settings – you just need to open positions that differ from your balance by a certain number of times. As an example, we will take the three most recommended leverage sizes– 1:5, 1:10, 1:20.

Amount on account Real leverage Volume in currency Volume in lots Margin (Collateral)
$200 1:5 $1.000 0,01 $10
$200 1:10 $2.000 0,02 $20
$200 1:20 $4.000 0,04 $40
$1.000 1:5 $5.000 0,05 $50
$1.000 1:10 $10.000 0,1 $100
$1.000 1:20 $20.000 0,2 $200
$3.000 1:5 $15.000 0,15 $150
$3.000 1:10 $30.000 0,3 $300
$3.000 1:20 $60.000 0,6 $600

To find out the real leverage for any open position, simply correlate its size in money with your Deposit. At the same time, do not bother to recalculate the exchange rate for those pairs where the USD is not in the first place: all the same, the values of the main currencies are approximately the same. Therefore, if you have, for example, a position on EUR/USD with a volume of 0.3 lots (30.000), and on a Deposit of 1.200 dollars, the real leverage will be equal to 1:25 (30.000/1.200=25).

Above, we promised to tell a little about those cases where dealing centres offer an incredibly high leverage size, thus providing a potentially large profit. Sometimes you can hear about leverage of 1:2000, which is 20 times more than the standard 1:100. To better understand the scheme of leverage, it should be noted that it directly affects the volume of the transaction, and through it – and the cost of one point. That is, the greater the leverage – the greater the value of the item. As a rule, the cost of 1 point is equal to 1/10. 000 of the transaction volume, and if the volume is 0.1 lot or $10,000, the point is equal to 1 dollar (10.000/10.000=1). Therefore, if we work with a lot with a Deposit of 1.000 (1:10 leverage), the price must pass 1.000 points in our direction so that we double the Deposit, or 1.000 points not in our direction so that we lose it. If you are familiar with the movements of instruments, you probably know that 1.000 points are the annual movement of most currency pairs, only occasionally the price passes it in two or three months. That is, a complete loss of savings is unlikely.

At the same time, if we work with a Deposit of $ 1,000 and leverage of 1:2000, the transaction volume will be as much as 2 million! The size of the point will be 2,000,000/10,000=200 dollars. It turns out that only 5 points are not in our direction (and given the spread-and even 3-4 points) can ruin the entire Deposit! And such a movement is a matter of a few seconds. Therefore, such offers have nothing to do with risk management or long-term work in the markets. By the way, this also applies to the 1:1000 leverage, and even the popular 1:500. In the first case, to reach the Margin Call, we will need to lose only 10 points, in the second-20 points.

To sum up, I would like to say that all the difficulties with choosing the volume of the transaction and the size of the leverage arise only in the first stages of trading. After a while, any person begins to open operations that are safe for their capital without thinking, without bothering with unnecessary calculations. However, at first, it is desirable that you at least mentally calculate all the above parameters to bring this skill to the subconscious level.

Маржинальное плечо: просто лишь на первый взгляд

Все дело в том, что данная тема рассматривается лишь один раз, в самом начале знакомства человека с рынками, да и то крайне поверхностно. А самые сложные вопросы у трейдера возникают намного позже, когда он уже прошел трейдинг обучение и пробует силы на реальном аккаунте. Среди наиболее частых вопросов следующие: «Где я могу выставить плечо 1:10?», «Как узнать, с каким плечом я сейчас торгую?», «Почему считается рискованным плечо 1:2000?» и др. Поэтому мы искренне надеемся, что после прочтения этого материала вы найдете нужные ответы.

Для начала вспомним общее определение кредитного плеча. Итак, плечо – это соотношение средств, которые трейдеру нужно иметь на счете для открытия позиции и размера этой самой позиции. Например, понятие «плечо 1:100» означает, что имея на счете 1 условную единицу, вы можете работать 100 условными единицами. Ниже мы рассмотрим это на примере.

Во всех дальнейших пояснениях мы будем использовать условный аккаунт на 10.000 долларов, с помощью которого мы будем торговать валютной парой USD/JPY. Стандартный 1 лот по данной паре составляет 100.000 единиц базовой валюты, в нашем случае – это $100.000. На таблице ниже показано несколько вариантов сделок с данным депозитом.

Сумма на счете Объем в лотах Объем в валюте Реальное кредитное плечо
$10.000 0,01 лот $1.000 10:1
$10.000 0,1 лот $10.000 1:1
$10.000 1 лот $100.000 1:10
$10.000 5 лотов $500.000 1:50
$10.000 10 лотов $1 000.000 1:100
$10.000 200 лотов $20 000.000 1:2000

Если вы обратите внимание на первые две сделки, вы увидите, что в первом случае (0,01 лот) кредитное плечо не используется вовсе, скорее наоборот – у нас в 10 раз больше средств, чем нужно. А вот втором случае наш депозит полностью соответствует объему операции, то есть, формально мы можем работать без плеча. При этом для того, чтобы вам было понятнее, мы ввели отдельный термин реальное плечо – это соотношение всего нашего депозита с размером сделки. Однако поскольку мы открываем операции с помощью брокера, мы не сможем отказаться от заемных средств, поскольку деньги на нашем аккаунте и те деньги, на которые открывается сделка – это совершенно разные категории. Поэтому мы введем еще одно понятие «номинальное кредитное плечо» — это и есть та цифра, по которой брокер высчитывает маржинальные требования. Ниже – дополненный вариант той же таблицы, в которой мы поясняем значение самого популярного плеча 1:100. Обратите внимание, что мы убрали последнюю графу, поскольку с таким плечом невозможно открыть операцию на 200 лотов (позже мы вернемся к этому вопросу).

Сумма на счете Объем в лотах Объем в валюте Реальное кредитное плечо Маржа (Залог) Номинальное кредитное плечо
$10.000 0,01 лот $1.000 10:1 $10 1:100
$10.000 0,1 лот $10.000 1:1 $100 1:100
$10.000 1 лот $100.000 1:10 $1.000 1:100
$10.000 5 лотов $500.000 1:50 $5.000 1:100
$10.000 10 лотов $1 000.000 1:100 $10.000 1:100

Номинальное плечо – это тот параметр, который брокер использует для определения размера необходимой маржи, которую вы будете видеть в терминале МТ4 (в платформе xStation используется термин залог). Все клиенты форекс компании FTM Brokers по умолчанию получают плечо 1:100, хотя для некоторых инструментов (например, CFD на акции) показатель может меняться. Причем размер залога абсолютно не зависит от суммы на депозите. И если, например, мы откроем позицию на 0,1 лот ($10.000), в графе «маржа» (залог) будет указано 100 долларов исходя из плеча 1:100. Хотя мы прекрасно понимаем, что при размере счета в $10.000 у нас достаточно средств даже для того, чтобы покрыть всю операцию целиком.

И вот теперь мы можем вернуться к нашим вопросам, в частности, к выставлению меньшего размера плеча. Разгадка здесь в том, что когда вы будете читать наши уроки по управлению капиталом, либо планировать риски по своим сделкам, вы будете иметь дело именно с реальным кредитным плечом. То есть, никакие настройки аккаунта вам менять не нужно – достаточно лишь открывать позиции, в определенное количество раз отличающиеся от вашего баланса. В качестве примера мы возьмём три наиболее рекомендуемых размера плеча – 1:5, 1:10, 1:20.

Сумма на счете Реальное плечо Объем в валюте Объем в лотах Маржа (залог)
$200 1:5 $1.000 0,01 $10
$200 1:10 $2.000 0,02 $20
$200 1:20 $4.000 0,04 $40
$1.000 1:5 $5.000 0,05 $50
$1.000 1:10 $10.000 0,1 $100
$1.000 1:20 $20.000 0,2 $200
$3.000 1:5 $15.000 0,15 $150
$3.000 1:10 $30.000 0,3 $300
$3.000 1:20 $60.000 0,6 $600

Чтобы узнать реальное плечо по любой открытой позиции, просто соотнесите ее размер в деньгах со своим депозитом. При этом не утруждайтесь пересчетом курса по тем парам, где на первом месте стоит не USD: все равно значения основных валют примерно одинаковые. Поэтому если у вас, например, открыта позиция по EUR/USD объемом 0,3 лота (30.000), а на депозите 1.200 долларов, реальное плечо будет равно 1:25 (30.000 / 1.200=25).

Выше мы обещали рассказать немного о тех случаях, когда дилинговые центры предлагают невероятно высокий размер рычага, обеспечивая тем самым потенциально большую прибыль. Иногда можно слышать о плече 1:2000, что в 20 раз больше стандартных 1:100. Для того чтобы лучше понять схему действия плеча, нужно отметить, что оно прямо влияет на объем сделки, а через него – и на стоимость одного пункта. То есть, чем больше плечо – тем большая стоимость пункта. Как правило, стоимость 1 пункта равна 1/10.000 объема сделки, и при объеме 0,1 лот или $10.000 пункт равняется 1 доллару (10.000 / 10.000=1). Поэтому если мы работаем 0,1 лотом при депозите 1.000 (плечо 1:10), цена должна пройти 1.000 пунктов в нашу сторону, чтобы мы удвоили депозит, либо 1.000 пунктов не в нашу сторону, чтобы мы его потеряли. Если вы знакомы с движениями инструментов, вы наверняка знаете, что 1.000 пунктов – это годовое движение большинства валютных пар, лишь изредка цена проходит его за два-три месяца. То есть, полная потеря сбережений маловероятна.

В то же время, если мы будем работать с депозитом 1.000 долларов и плечом 1:2000, объем сделки будет составлять целых 2 миллиона! Размер пункта при этом составит 2.000.000 / 10.000=200 долларов. Выходит, всего 5 пунктов не в нашу сторону (а учитывая спрэд – и вовсе 3-4 пункта) могут погубить весь депозит! А подобное движение – дело нескольких секунд. Поэтому такие предложения не имеют ничего общего ни с риск-менеджментом, ни с долгосрочной работой на рынках. Кстати, то же касается и плеча 1:1000, и даже популярного 1:500. В первом случае для достижения Margin Call нам нужно будет потерять всего 10 пунктов, во втором – 20 пунктов.

Подводя итог хотелось бы сказать, что все сложности с выбором объема сделки и размера плеча возникают лишь на первых этапах трейдинга. Через некоторое время любой человек начинает не задумываясь открывать безопасные для своего капитала операции, не утруждая себя лишними расчетами. Однако на первых порах желательно вам хотя бы в уме просчитывать все вышеуказанные параметры, чтобы довести этот навык до подсознательного уровня.